Kingspan Political engagement plan

Kingspan political engagement plan

PKIN00008120/1 KIN00000120_0001

Overview

It's time to get our message out to the people that matter.

In the first instance, initial outreach should be made by Kingspan and not by Portland. It looks better. We will draft letters and emails on your behalf, we will ensure each one is tailored to the recipient, and we will prepare you adequately for each and every meeting that you are granted. Portland will be the engine room.

We must be realistic though: some people will not want to meet you and they will not want to be lobbied. But there is still immeasurable value in getting Kingspan's manifesto in front of these decision-makers. We want them to read it. We need them to read it. And that's why it's vital that our messages are punchy, memorable and easy to understand.

Following initial contact, there will be a programme of follow-ups and that's where we hope to use our network of contacts: to nudge, where appropriate. And while we cannot promise you access, we will pull every string to ensure that your messages reach the key people.

Finally, there is still a discussion to be had about approaching the public inquiry. We don't know the inquiry's terms of reference and we don't know if Kingspan will be asked to give evidence.

Group 1 – Constituency MPs

МР	Party	Constituency	Kingspan site
Nigel Adams MP	Con	Selby and Ainsty	Selby (PIR boards)
Alan Brown MP	SNP	Kilmarnock and Loudoun	Stewarton
Mary Creagh MP*	Lab	Wakefield	Wakefield
Stephen Doughty MP	Lab	Cardiff South and Penarth	Euroclad, Cardiff (Phenolic boards)
Ruth George MP	Lab	High Peak	KTIIL Glossop (Phenolic pipe)
Paul Girvan MP	DUP	South Antrim	Springvale, Ballyclare
Ian Liddell-Grainger MP	Con	Bridgwater & West Somerset	Williton, Somerset
David Hanson MP	Lab	Delyn	Holywell (PIR core panels)
Kevin Hollinrake MP**	Con	Thirsk and Malton	Sherburn (PIR core panels)
David Lidington MP	Con	Aylesbury	Aston Clinton
Stephen Metcalfe MP	Con	South Basildon & East Thurrock	Ecotherm Basildon (PIR boards)
David Simpson MP***	DUP	Upper Bann	Portadown
Karl Turner MP	Lab	Kingston upon Hull East	Hull
Tom Watson MP	Lab	West Bromwich East	West Bromwich
Bill Wiggin MP	Con	North Herefordshire	Pembridge (PIR and phenolic boards)
Valerie Vaz MP	Lab	Walsall South	Walsall
Chris Hazzard MP	Sinn Fein	South Down	Newry

*Also Environmental Audit Committee Chair

**Also a member of DCLG Select Committee

***Also a member of Defra Select Committee, Healthy Homes and Buildings APPG.

Actions

- Portland to draft letter requesting a meeting
- Kingspan to approve and send
- Portland to provide follow up to secure meetings
- Portland to produce MP briefing notes for Kingspan ahead of meetings

Group 2 - Key decision-makers

Name	Position	
Rt Hon Sajid Javid MP*	Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government	
Rt Hon Amber Rudd MP	Home Secretary	
Rt Hon Michael Gove MP	Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs	
Dame Judith Hackitt	Chair of the independent building regulations review	
Neil Cooper	Chair of the Building Regulations Advisory Committee	

*Meeting requests to Secretaries of State are likely to be referred to the appropriate ministers:

- Alok Sharma MP, Minister of State for Housing and Planning;
- Nick Hurd MP, Minister of State for Policing and the Fire Service;
- George Eustice MP, Minister of State for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food (including 'better regulation').

Actions

- Portland to draft letter requesting a meeting
- Kingspan to approve and send
- Portland to provide follow up to secure meetings
- Portland to provide briefing notes ahead of meetings

Group 3 – Group Chairs and MPs with a key interest

МР	Party	Position	
Clive Betts MP	Lab	Chair, Department for Communities and Local Government Select Committee	
Neil Parish MP	Con	Chair, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Select Committee	
Rachel Reeves MP	Lab	Chair, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Select Committee	
Sir David Amess MP	Con	Chair, Fire Safety Rescue Group APPG	
Jim Shannon MP	DUP	Chair, Healthy Homes and Buildings APPG	
James Cartlidge MP	Con	Chair, Housing and Planning APPG	
Dr Rupa Huq MP	Lab	London's Planning and Built Environment APPG	
Helen Hayes MP	Lab	Member of DCLG Select Committee, Built Environment APPG, Housing and Planning APPG, London's Planning and Built Environment APPG	
Caroline Lucas MP	Green	Co-Convener of the Green Party, Member of the Environmental Audit Committee	
Peter Aldous MP	Con	Member of Environmental Audit Committee, Fire Safety Rescue Group APPG	
Chris Davies MP	Con	Member of Defra Select Committee, Fire Safety Rescue Group APPG	
Jim Fitzpatrick MP	Lab	Member of Defra Select Committee, Fire Safety Rescue Group APPG	
Mr Mark Prisk MP	Con	Member of DCLG Select Committee, Housing and Planning APPG	
Kerry McCarthy MP	Lab	Member of Defra Select Committee, Environmental Audit Committee	
Mary Glindon MP	Lab	Member of Fire Safety Rescue Group APPG, Healthy Homes and Buildings APPG	

Mary Creagh MP, Chair of the Environmental Audit Committee, covered in Group 1.

Built Environment APPG – currently without a Chair as Oliver Colvile lost his seat at the general election.

Actions

- Portland to draft letter offering a meeting
- Kingspan to approve and send
- Portland to provide follow up to secure meetings
- Portland to provide briefing notes ahead of meetings

Group 4 – MPs and Peers on relevant Select Committees & APPGs

Name	Party	Member of
Albert Owen MP	Lab	BEIS Select Committee
Amanda Milling MP	Con	BEIS Select Committee
Anna Turley MP	Lab	BEIS Select Committee
Antoinette Sandbach MP	Con	BEIS Select Committee
Craig Tracey MP	Con	BEIS Select Committee
Peter Kyle MP	Lab	BEIS Select Committee
Earl of Lytton	Crossbench	Built Environment APPG
Lord Howie of Troon	Lab	Built Environment APPG
Maria Miller MP	Con	Built Environment APPG
Alison Thewliss MP	SNP	DCLG Select Committee
Bob Blackman MP	Con	DCLG Select Committee
Mary Robinson MP	Con	DCLG Select Committee
Melanie Onn MP	Lab	DCLG Select Committee
Mr Christopher Chope MP	Con	DCLG Select Committee
Rushanara Ali MP	Lab	DCLG Select Committee
Angela Smith MP	Lab	Defra Select Committee
Rebecca Pow MP	Con	Defra Select Committee
Rishi Sunak MP	Con	Defra Select Committee
Simon Hart MP	Con	Defra Select Committee
Dr Matthew Offord MP	Con	Environmental Audit Committee

Geraint Davies MP	Lab	Environmental Audit Committee
Glyn Davies MP	Con	Environmental Audit Committee
Joan Ryan MP	Lab	Environmental Audit Committee
John McNally MP	SNP	Environmental Audit Committee
Luke Hall MP	Con	Environmental Audit Committee
Mr Gavin Shuker MP	Lab	Environmental Audit Committee
Peter Heaton-Jones MP	Con	Environmental Audit Committee
Scott Mann MP	Con	Environmental Audit Committee
Alex Cunningham MP	Lab	Healthy Homes and Buildings APPG
Fiona Bruce MP	Con	Healthy Homes and Buildings APPG
Hywel Williams MP	Plaid Cymru	Healthy Homes and Buildings APPG
Lord Best	Crossbench	Housing and Planning APPG
Lord Shipley	Lib Dem	Housing and Planning APPG
Stephen Pound MP	Lab	Housing and Planning APPG
Paul Scully MP	Con	London's Planning and Built Environment APPG

Actions

- Portland to draft letters to accompany manifesto
- Kingspan to approve and send

Group 5 – MPs who speak in debates and press

Respond to points raised and provide relevant information

Actions

- Portland to monitor debates and press for comments by other MPs
- Portland to advise Kingspan on appropriate action to take, for example providing an MP with a briefing note or offering a meeting